First Aid Awards Ltd : Awarding body for First Aid Training and Health & Safety Training

CALL US NOW ON 03458 333999

FAAPlus Member Login

First Aid Awards ... Excellence as standard ...

... First class support



< Back to news

New Activity First Aid Qualification


The FAA Award in Activity First Aid qualification has been reviewed by the First Aid Awarding Organisation Forum and a new version is being launched on 1st January 2018.


The qualification has been reviewed to bring it into line with the recently introduced Emergency First Aid at Work and First Aid at Work qualifications and has been relevelled to a Level 3 qualification in England, Wales & Northern Ireland and Level 6 qualification in Scotland.


Changes and Important Information


Unit 1:

The majority of the changes to the unit are language changes and reorganisation of the assessment criteria to bring it into line with the new EFAW and FAW qualifications. The syllabus covered for unit 1 is the same as previously taught apart from the addition of the CPR process for victims of drowning.

Unit 1 of the qualification is identical to the new Emergency First Aid at Work qualification apart from the addition of the following assessment criteria as part of CPR:

3.3 Identify how to perform CPR for: Children & Victims of Drowning 

Unit 2:

Changes to unit 2 are as follows:

·         Learners must practically demonstrate both a support sling and an elevated sling

·         With regards to head injuries learners are not required to differentiate between the different types

·         Chest injuries to include rib cage injuries and penetrating chest wound

·         Bites & stings have been added to the syllabus

·         Treatment for stroke is no longer covered within the qualification

Other changes within the unit are language changes and reorganisation of the assessment criteria to bring it into line with the new EFAW and FAW qualifications.

Qualification Resources

FAA have updated the resources for the new qualification and these are available to download in the links below.  

Qualification Specification

Session Plan

Learning Outcomes & Assessment Criteria


FAA Centres and Trainer/Assessors should refer to the FAA’s December Newsletter for full information and guidance on the delivery and assessment of the new qualification.


If you need information fast, let us know what you need and we will get back to you at our earliest convenience.

First Aid Awards Ltd is an Ofqual regulated Awarding Organisation

An Awarding Organisation regulated by Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA and SQA Accreditation


Whether you are looking for training resources, student resources or First Aid supplies, you will find a very comprehensive selection of quality products that are priced competitively.

Check out the shop by clicking here and look at the special offers along with a range of new products that are always available.


RQF Level 1/2/3 Awards (England, Wales & Northern Ireland)

SCQF Level 4/5/6 Awards (Scotland)

Emergency First Aid
Paediatric First Aid
Activity First Aid
Health & Safety in the Workplace